Home Page Ticker

  • Remember to set your clocks backward one hour this Sunday, November 6th, 2022 for Day Light Saving Time.

Statistical Information

Jefferson Transit Authority became operational in 1981 after voter approval to establish the agency and subsequent sales tax levy.  We are a municipal corporation of the State of Washington.  Jefferson Transit’s six-member governing board is comprised of all three Jefferson County Commissioners, two City Council members from the City of Port Townsend, and one non-voting Union member representing JTA Union Members of Amalgamated Transit Union #587.

As of December 2021, Jefferson Transit employed:

  • 32 employees in the Operations Department
  • 10 employees in the Maintenance Department
  • 11 employees in the Administration Department


Current statistics

County Population:  32,221 (per US Census data-2020 actual)
Area:  1803 square miles (per US Census data-2010 actual)
Population Density:  16.6 per square mile (per US Census data-2010 actual)
Employees:  53
Revenue Vehicles: 40
Routes: 9 (8 – East Jefferson County, 1 – West Jefferson County)
Annual Operating Budget:  $3,942,963 (2012)
Annual Capital Budget: $125,000 (2012)

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial